Day: November 19, 2017

Review of ‘Basic Cartooning’

Posted on Updated on

If you like doodling and drawing cartoons, you might benefit from some basic instructions. Basic Cartooning by Maury Aaseng, follows the methods developed 90 years ago by artist, Walter Foster, at his home in Laguna Beach, California. It begins with materials and moves on to the basic shapes needed to make cartoons. Included is information on using digital techniques, not available during Foster’s time, and the process for developing panels and strips.

As useful as it is for beginners, I also found it a good refresher myself, to build on the techniques I developed during my time as a newspaper editorial cartoonist in the 1970s. This one is a must for your art reference library.

I’ve had this book in my own reference library for quite some time. Lately, I’ve been dabbling in my studio, working on some humorous illustrations for my books, and I came across it. I realized that I’d never reviewed this one, and decided it would be useful for budding artists out there to know about.

I give it five stars.