An old abandoned barn

Posted on

When my wife and I collaborate, it’s not always the case that she does the preliminary sketch. Sometimes, she gives me an idea and then disappears into the innards of a shopping mall to let me create. ‘An old abandoned barn,’ grew out of her suggestion that I do a winter scene (I did a lighthouse on a snow-covered bluff that she liked, but that was the only winter scene I’ve done in years). I played around with the idea for weeks, and then decided that an old abandoned barn in the forest behind our house (the subject of many of my photographs) would make a good starting point. I also decided that it would be a good way to talk her through the technique of building a painting, so I photographed it in its various phases to use in my explanations to her. I thought I’d share it here to show how I ‘build’ a painting. This is the final painting. Phase 1: I didn’t do a preliminary sketch. Instead, I coated a canvas panel with liquid white, did an orange circle for a sun in a hazy sky, and then fluffed in dark clouds, trees in the far background, and a large, open, snow-covered field. Next the foliage and middle ground trees were sort of roughed in. And, finally, I roughed in the faded red barn. The white sparkles aren’t part of the painting. I work in my garage, and those are reflections from the overhead light off the wet paint. Details are added to the barn. More details added, in the clouds, on the barn and the middle- and fore- ground foliage, and indications of a trail beside the barn.

Source: An old abandoned barn

3 thoughts on “An old abandoned barn

    ccyager said:
    January 4, 2017 at 8:33 pm

    I really like this painting! I’m originally from upstate NY so I grew up seeing red barns during the winter. Thanks for the memory!

    Like

    Yvonne Hertzberger said:
    January 4, 2017 at 9:05 pm

    I find it interesting that the process is not dissimilar from many kinds of creativity – be it writing, painting – even decorating a cake as my daughter-in-law does. .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

