Morning in Trump’s America

Posted on

Given his campaign rhetoric, his post-election tweets, and some of his cabinet nominations and staff choices, I have a feeling that America after inauguration 2017 will no longer be the welcoming place it has been for decades. The phrase at the base of the Statue of Liberty, written by poet, Emma Lazarus, ‘Give my your tired, your poor, your huddled masses, yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me: I lift my lamp beside the golden door,’ will no longer hold true – at least not for the next four years.As I’m wont to do when my thoughts are troubled, I take pencil and pen to paper and try to express them in a few simple lines–not words, but art. The airport signs in immigration might change, and, the words of Emma Lazarus corrupted entirely.

Source: Morning in Trump’s America

3 thoughts on “Morning in Trump’s America

    Yvonne Hertzberger said:
    December 29, 2016 at 7:35 pm

    Sadly, I have to agree. My only hope is that the extent of the coming suffering will, in the end, open the yes of the silent masses and bring about some real positive change. In the meantime….

    Liked by 1 person

    dvberkom said:
    December 30, 2016 at 12:17 am

    Great drawings. I liked the post, but I didn’t “like” the post. We’ll make it–just be sure to vote in the mid-terms. And start saving those $$$ for when the economy tanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    dancingpalmtrees said:
    December 30, 2016 at 4:01 am

Leave a Reply

