Top 1% Goodreads’ Reviewer

Posted on Updated on

1459554269-1459554269_goodreads_misc Have you ever opened your email and seen one that you’re tempted to delete without opening because it just seems highly improbable and is maybe a phishing scheme or an enticement to buy something? That’s kind of how I felt when I saw the subject line informing me that I was in the top 1% of Goodreads reviewers. I mean, sure, I write a lot of reviews and post them on Goodreads, but I wasn’t even aware that they were keeping track.

 

Turns out, though, that they were–are, and they let me know that since I signed up for Goodreads in 2010 I’ve done 704 reviews. Since I often review books here whenever I do Amazon or Goodreads reviews, that means I’ve done a few hundred here as well. Who’d of thunk it. Heck, I just like to read, and I like to share good books with others. Add to that my desire to see indie authors like myself succeed, and doing book reviews is a natural fit.

It hasn’t been all gravy, though. I’ve had a few authors take exception to my reviews when I didn’t give them four or five stars. Believe me, though, I’m a generous reviewer, and if I give a book three stars, chances are it’s actually a bit below that level. That, however, is not an assessment of the author of that book. Perhaps it’s just that the subject matter doesn’t impress me. More often than not, though, it’s because there are just too many technical problems; problems that can be solved with a good bout of proofreading or careful editing.

At any rate, this is, I know, just a bit of blatant horn-blowing and auto-back patting, but I just had to share this with all my readers. Oh, and if you haven’t discovered or signed up to Goodreads, you should really think about it. It’s not just a site for authors, but a good place to find the latest indie gems. Check it out at goodreads.com.

10 thoughts on “Top 1% Goodreads’ Reviewer

    Yvonne Hertzberger said:
    April 6, 2016 at 1:27 pm

    Congratulations. I’m not one bit surprised. Go ahead and blow that horn. You’ve earned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Deborah Osborne said:
    April 6, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    Congratulations! I’m always impressed by how many reviews you post here.

    Liked by 1 person

    dvberkom said:
    April 6, 2016 at 1:51 pm

    Congratulations, Charlie! Well deserved and holy cow, are you prolific 🙂 You’re def. one of the best reviewers out there. Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    ccyager said:
    April 6, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    Congratulations!! Would you like to review my novel “Perceval’s Secret”? Let me know if you need the e-file for a Kindle or Nook reader. Thanks. Cinda

    Like

      Charles Ray responded:
      April 6, 2016 at 4:32 pm

      Sounds interesting and I would if you’re not in a hurry for it. I prefer file for Kindle.

      Liked by 1 person

        ccyager said:
        April 9, 2016 at 2:08 pm

        Thanks, Charles! I’ll send you the file.

        Like

        ccyager said:
        April 9, 2016 at 2:13 pm

        Oh, I’ll need your preferred e-mail. You can send it to percevalbooks at gmail dot com. Thanks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

