The Author as Historian by Charles Ray : #race, the frontier and setting the record straight

Posted on

I appeared as a Guest Blogger on author Helen Treharne’s Blog. Go on over and check it out!

Helen treharne

Today I’m joined by Charles Ray, an author who is setting the record straight straight about the diverse history of the American West, highlighting that not all “white hats” were in fact white and the contribution of black Americans to the development and stability of the frontier.


Like many of my generation, growing up in the 40s and 50s, I spent a lot of time; probably far too much; sitting mesmerized in front of a small screen black and white TV. Like most boys my age, my favorite shows were the war shows and the westerns. I grew up on a diet of Roy Rogers, Hopalong Cassidy, and Gene Autry. I cheered when the cavalry came riding to the rescue of the wagon train under attack by bands of Indians, and dreamed of what it must have been like to live in such times.
What I didn’t realize until I…

View original post 1,434 more words

2 thoughts on “The Author as Historian by Charles Ray : #race, the frontier and setting the record straight

    dvberkom said:
    October 17, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Loved that post, Charlie. Especially the part where you thought to yourself “I’m a writer…it starts with one person.” You are that person. Something we as novelists shouldn’t ever forget.

    Like

Leave a Reply

