Test Cover Design for WIP – Buffalo Soldier: Mob Justice

Posted on

I’m currently working on a new Buffalo Soldier novel that involves Sergeant Ben Carter and his men getting caught up in the prejudices of a small town in New Mexico Territory, when a man has been falsely accused of murder, and Ben must reconcile his duty of aiding law enforcement when requested with his sense of justice and right.  Below is one of the cover designs I’ve come up with. Comments are welcome. Chapters I’ve completed are being posted at http://www.wattpad.com/story/42692455-buffalo-soldier-mob-justice so if you want to see the story behind the proposed cover, pop over and give it a read. Comments on the cover design are also welcomed.

Cover design

5 thoughts on “Test Cover Design for WIP – Buffalo Soldier: Mob Justice

    Paul said:
    July 5, 2015 at 12:06 am

    Read a chapter, Charlie. That’s good writing. Haven’t read enough to relate properly to the cover design, but it’s attractive…and ominous

    Like

    dvberkom said:
    July 5, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    Hey Charlie! I love the feel of the cover–like Paul said, ominous and attractive. My 2 cents: If it were me, I’d make the title larger (for thumbnail visibility) and have a bit more space between the letters (they appear a little scrunched – maybe have Buffalo Soldier underneath, smaller than the title, but spaced so that it matches the beginning and end of the title). I would also use a sans serif font for your name to differentiate it. I see you’re veering away from the series’ look–are you re-branding? Anyway, just some initial thoughts 🙂

    Like

      Charles Ray responded:
      July 5, 2015 at 9:18 pm

      I have been thinking about changing the series appearance – not sure about this one, though your comments might just push it to the top of my pile. On the other hand, maybe having each book with its own individual look might be the best way to go. I’m still conflicted on that issue.

      Like

        dvberkom said:
        July 6, 2015 at 7:45 pm

        I was too, on mine. I’m currently in the process of re-branding the Leine Basso series with a professional designer and they’ve made each book somewhat similar, but with different model positioning and colors. We’ll see what happens. I do like the designer’s vision, tho.

        Like

    Charles Ray responded:
    July 5, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    Reblogged this on Asnycnow Radio.

    Like

Leave a Reply

