A Second Review of ‘Broken Playthings’

Posted on

It’s not often that I do a second review of the same book – in fact, as I think about it, I’ve not done it before now. But, after receiving a revised version of Broken Playthings by Brennon Noss, I felt it only fair to give my view on it.

When a white suburban couple are brutally murdered in their home, and their teenaged daughter barely escapes with her life, private detective Jake Adams gets involved in exacting justice – read, revenge – for the crime. Opposing the heartless and vicious Big Joe and his coldblooded sidekick, Tea, Jake resorts to actions that are often over the line.
Broken Playthings by Brennon Noss is a hard-to-categorize novel. It is a look at the gritty underside of society and the dark denizens who inhabit a realm that the normal middle class person might find hard to believe exists. In this book, there are no heroes, and few are innocent. Noss holds a mirror up to the seamier side of life, and then turns it to give us a full frontal view as he rubs it in our faces.
The dialogue is probably a bit too earthy for some readers, but Noss has captured the argot of the street perfectly. While it is hard to sympathize with, and impossible to identify with the characters, Noss has done such a good job describing them, it’s easy to believe they could exist.
I previously reviewed this book, and commented on formatting problems, which the author has subsequently fixed. I am, therefore, changing my rating to what I think it really should be, and highly recommend it to anyone interested in ‘noir’ mysteries. My rating is, therefore, upgraded to four stars.
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my review.

Leave a Reply

