The Changeling and the importance of sound in #horror #horrorwriters

Posted on

Good advice for writers. Using sound, and other senses in your writing can hook readers.

Helen Treharne

The Changeling and the importance of sound in horror movies | Den of Geek.

I had to share this article when I found it. I was raised on horror films and one of the things that stand out for me are often the soundtracks. The Changeling is an excellent example of how sound helps transcend a visual medium into something even more powerful. It’s more than building a generalised mood or atmosphere, it’s about conveying emotion. It’s not just the music that does this in The Changeling. The repetitive, haunting thud of a drowning boy as he beats his limbs againt the bath is something which has stayed with me and is the first thing I think of when someone mentions the film.

Of course, this doesn’t just apply to films. In literature, the presence of noise (although we may not hear it) can help set the scene and…

View original post 155 more words

One thought on “The Changeling and the importance of sound in #horror #horrorwriters

    dancingpalmtrees said:
    February 18, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    When I began reading this article the soundtrack from Jaws came to mind. Then I said to myself it’s 22 degrees outside, bitter cold, icy freezing so no Sharks. Then I remembered Sharknado!! Yikes!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

